Archives and Special Collections: Sudan Archive: Blog

Sudan Archive news

Significant recent accessions to the Sudan Archive and related events will be reported on this blog. You are warmly encouraged to visit us or to get in touch, whether to further your own research, to suggest additional records we should try to collect, or to make a donation to the collections yourself.

Items marked with an asterisk are accruals to existing collections, details of the careers of which persons can be found published in the Summary Guide to the Sudan Archive or in each of their collections’ catalogues. Acquisitions of recent publications are not generally noted but are nevertheless received with deep thanks. Accessions generally remain uncatalogued for a period of time, but can usually be accessed on request. Newly digitised material from the collections is published online most weeks and can be browsed here.

Accessions to the Sudan Archive, January 2023-July 2024

• Iain Archibald Gillespie (1906-1973), Sudan Veterinary Service 1930-1956: 1 album (182 photographs) and 274 loose photographs
• Dr Ahmed Al-Shahi and Professor F.C.T. Moore: papers relating to Sudanese folk stories and games, including stories collected in Sudan under the direction of Al-Shahi and Moore in the 1970s and 1980s (part published in Wisdom from the Nile (1978) and Wisdom from the Desert (2022)) (4 boxes, 5 vols)
• James Baynard-Smith: biographical papers, and groups of correspondence, photographs and cuttings relating to the Mahdi family, Dr Mohamed el-Murtada, Buth Diu, and several other prominent South Sudanese figures, 1950s-2023 (6 files)
• Sir Robert G. Howe (1893-1981), Governor-General 1947-1955: “Inherit the kingdom”, unpublished autobiography (1 vol)
• Purchased: Sudan photograph album, 1926-29, including many scenes of railway and bridge construction
• *Gen. Reginald Wingate (1861-1953): copy of the sale catalogue of the contents of Wingate’s home “Knockenhair” in Dunbar, 27-28 May 1953
• *Harold R.J. Davies (1931-2022), Khartoum University (1955-60) and Swansea University (1960-97): further papers, publications and photographs (1 box)
• *Michael Tibbs, Sudan Political Service, 1949-1955, and his wife Anne (née Wortley) (1932-2019): further papers, photographs and printed material, 1948-2011 (2 boxes)
• Nick Cater, journalist: papers, newspaper cuttings, posters, 1980s-1990s (1 box)
• *Ewen Campbell (1897-1975), Sudan Political Service, 1922-1947: 1939 diary, correspondence, papers, 1939-1940s (1 file)
• *Evelyn Robertson (1907-1985), wife of Ewen Campbell: Sudan memoir, 1980s (1 file)
• Arthur Stafford Oakley (1899-1980), Sudan Political Service 1923-1948, and his wife Mary Dorothea Holmes (1901-1992): diaries and photograph albums, 1923-1948 (9 vols)
• Alexander McKillop (1898-1980), Manager Production Division (Nzara) of the Equatoria Projects Board: 5 photographs, 1950
• John A.B. Ritchie (1943-2021), photo-journalist: photographs of the 1986 Sudanese parliamentary election and humanitarianism during the Second Sudanese Civil War (1 box)
• *Henry E. Hebbert (1893-1980), Public Works and Posts and Telegraphs Departments 1924-1944, Director P&T 1939-1944: correspondence, photographs, including First World War cuttings, photographs and letters, 1912-1945. The donation also included extensive Hebbert family correspondence from India and England, 1830s-1930s (6 boxes)
• *Maj. James J. Bramble (1883-1943), Sudan Political Service 1916-1935, and his wife Daisy Flowers (1885-1973): personal and some official papers and photographs, c.1900-1943 (1 box)
• *Anne Cloudsley-Thompson (1916-2012): thesis and related publications about obstetrics and physiotherapy in Sudan, 1978-1984 (3 vols)
• Ian Cliff, British Ambassador to Sudan, 2005-2007: 409 photographs of Sudan railways, trains and steamers, 1982-2007
• Robert G. Koepp, Lutheran World Federation (SEOC), 1987-1998 and World Food Programme 1998-1999; WFP Sudan, 2005: photograph albums, research files, publications, maps and ephemera, 1898-2013 (2 boxes)
• Elizabeth Hodgkin, Teacher, lecturer and researcher, Sudan and South Sudan, 1968-1973, 2012-2013, 2018-2024; Amnesty International Mission to Sudan, 2003: Suad Ibrahim correspondence, 1972-1973; Sudanese academic papers, 1970s-1980s (0.5 box)
• Nawal Mukhtar: Fī qabḍat al-istiʻmār: silsilat maqālāt, 1950-1952 (In the Grip of Colonialism: a series of articles, 1950-1952) by Ahmad Mukhtar (1915-2002) (2021 edition)
• *P.M. Holt (1918-2006), historian: file of professional correspondence with Richard Hill (1901-1996), historian and archivist
• Mary Calder (1923-2019), wife of Donald Calder (1916-1988), Sudan Political Service serving in Upper Nile Province, Khartoum, and Northern Province: short illustrated memoir of years 1946-1953 (1 file)
• *M.S. Lush (1896-1990), Sudan Political Service 1919-1941: 120 photographs, 1920s-1930s
• Lynette Jones: Photograph album including urban and British military scenes from Malta, Egypt, Sudan and India, [1939 x 1945]