Skip to Main Content Page Title
Library logo

Archives and Special Collections: Sudan Archive: Governor-General Reports

Our collections

During the Condominium period of British rule in Sudan, provincial governors and heads of departments submitted detailed annual reports to the Governors-General who used them to compile their reports on the country which reports were in their turn submitted to the High Commissioner in Egypt. The reports for the years 1902-1914, when General Sir Reginald Wingate was Governor-General, are particularly valuable, containing a wealth of information and statistics on every aspect of the administration. By the late 1920s many government departments produced printed copies of their annual reports, but their survival has been haphazard. In their absence, the Governors-General's reports provide the researcher with essential background details on each province and department.

Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1902 (SudA+ PK1561 GRE)

Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1902.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1903.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1904.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1905.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1906.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1907.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1908.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1909.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1910.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1911.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1912.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1913.
Memorandum by General Sir Reginald Wingate on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan, 1914.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Soudan in 1921.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Soudan in 1922.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1923.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1924.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1925.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1926.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1927.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1928.
Report on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1929.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1930.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1931.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1932.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1933.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1934.
Reports on the finances, administration and condition of the Sudan in 1935.
Report by the Governor-General on the Administration, Finances and Conditions of the Sudan in 1936.
Report by the Governor-General on the Administration, Finances and Conditions of the Sudan in 1937.
Report by the Governor-General on the Administration, Finances and Conditions of the Sudan in 1938.
Report on the Administration of the Sudan for the years 1939-41 (inclusive).
Report on the Administration of the Sudan for the years 1942-44 (inclusive).
Report by the Governor-General on the Administration, Finances and Conditions of the Sudan in 1945.
Report by the Governor-General on the Administration, Finances and Conditions of the Sudan in 1946.
Report by the Governor-General on the Administration, Finances and Conditions of the Sudan in 1947.
Report by the Governor-General on the Administration, Finances and Conditions of the Sudan in 1948.
Report by the Governor-General on the Administration, Finances and Conditions of the Sudan in 1949.
Report on the Administration of the Sudan in 1950/51.
Report on the Administration of the Sudan in 1951/52.

Availability online (digital images)

If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.

If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose.  Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.

See also our guide to Digitised Collections Online for further information on our digital resources.

Access to original sources

The collections mentioned above are located at Palace Green Library.  Our current opening hours are as follows, by appointment only (see below).

  • Monday to Thursday: 10am to 4:30pm
  • Saturday: closed
  • Sunday: closed

See separate Libraries and Site Information guide for further information on Palace Green Library, and for disruption due to roofing works during 2024-2025, visit our guide. 

Appointments are required for all visits, please use the enquiry form to book.  Appointments need to be made at least three working days in advance, and we will need to know the full list of document references or shelfmarks of the items you wish to consult before we can confirm your booking. If you are unsure of how to do this or need assistance please contact us and we will be happy to help.

Where to start

Sources elsewhere

The National Records Office (Khartoum)

South Sudan National Archives (Juba)

The National Archives (UK)