Initially produced monthly, later quarterly and then half-yearly, these lists contain the names of all Sudan Government employees, both British and Sudanese, from 1914-1963. They are useful for tracking the careers of personnel in the Sudan Political Service as well as the technical services such as Sudan Government Railways Service, the Medical Service and the Education Department. Although incomplete, this set of staff lists gives fairly comprehensive coverage from the First World War in 1914 to the end of the Condominium in 1956, as well as the first few years of independence.
A summary of appointments made between 1899 and 1918 recorded in the Sudan Gazette
If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.
If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose. Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.
See also our guide to Digitised Collections Online for further information on our digital resources.
The collections mentioned above are located at Palace Green Library. Our current opening hours are as follows, but see also below.
For further information on visiting to use the collections, please use our enquiry form.
See separate Libraries and Site Information guide for further information on Palace Green Library.
Due to essential works, there will be a period of restricted access to the Archives and Special Collections throughout April and May. Details of opening times can be found in our Library Sites guide. Appointments will be required for all visits during April and May, please use the enquiry form to book. Please give three working days notice for appointments and include a full list of document references or shelfmarks so that we can best enable your research access.
The National Records Office (Khartoum)
South Sudan National Archives (Juba)
The National Archives (UK)