Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Digitised Collections Online: Home

Introduction

A wide range of material in our collections is available online. Much of it can be directly accessed from our catalogues: there are also separate specialised sites focussed on groups of similar material and in the case of non-unique material, such as early printed books, a copy of the same work can be viewed by members of subscribing institutions on standard packages such as Early English Books Online.

Where collections material has been digitised a link will be provided in the catalogue record. Our search portal Discover also allows researchers to filter for material which is ‘Available online’.

If you need further information concerning particular series of records and their accessibility online please contact us. If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.

If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose.  Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.

Discover

undefined

About our collections

Rare and Early Printed Books
Churches and Religion
Sudan Archive
Medieval Manuscripts
Local and Family History
Durham Light Infantry Medal Collection
Durham University Records
Durham Cathedral Collections
International Sources
Digitised Collections Online
Music, Literature and the Arts
Other Collections and Subjects

Contact us

Where to start

Subject guides

The collections mentioned in this guide could be useful for a range of academic subjects taught at Durham University. The guides listed below also have information about other relevant resources.

Collection highlights

Archivist filmed with medieval deed in Palace Green Library

Archives and Special Collections podcasts and films

Online exhibitions (archive, library, museum and art collections)

Durham University Library and Collections blog

Archives and Special Collections Item of the Month

Durham Priory Library project blog

Binchester Exposed (Archaeology exhibition)