Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Medieval Manuscripts: Home

Introduction

This guide covers medieval manuscripts held by Durham University, Durham Cathedral and Ushaw College. As the location of Durham manuscripts is often misidentified by inquirers and in published citations, it is useful to treat these separate collections together. As yet, there is no complete modern online catalogue of medieval manuscripts for any of the three libraries.

Medieval manuscripts are here taken to include material in book form (codices) and fragments. Archive material such as charters or volumes of records are not generally included, although there are areas where this distinction becomes blurred. Major collections such as Durham Cathedral Archives and the records of the bishopric of Durham contain large quantities of medieval documents, but these collections are dealt with separately. Where material of an archival nature is included here, it tends to be single volumes that have been detached from the body of records of which they were once part of.

Search medieval manuscripts

Discover

undefined

About our collections

Rare and Early Printed Books
Churches and Religion
Sudan Archive
Medieval Manuscripts
Local and Family History
Durham Light Infantry Medal Collection
Durham University Records
Durham Cathedral Collections
International Sources
Digitised Collections Online
Music, Literature and the Arts
Other Collections and Subjects

Contact us

Collection highlights

Archivist filmed with medieval deed in Palace Green Library

Archives and Special Collections podcasts and films

Online exhibitions (archive, library, museum and art collections)

Durham University Library and Collections blog

Archives and Special Collections Item of the Month

Durham Priory Library project blog

Binchester Exposed (Archaeology exhibition)