Medieval manuscript books at Ushaw are found in the Ushaw Manuscripts collection, identified by the simple reference Ushaw MS. 1 (although not all the items in this sequence are medieval manuscripts).
There is no online catalogue available for this collection, but most are described in N. R. Ker and A. J. Piper, Medieval manuscripts in British Libraries IV Paisley-York (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1992) 505-551 (copies at Palace Green - PG 016.091 KER and Cathedral Library ChapterLibS 016.091 KER).
Most can currently be consulted at Palace Green Library: inquiries should be sent to ushaw.library@durham.ac.uk
These collections have not been digitised, so only the catalogues are currently available online.
If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.
If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose. Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.
See also our guide to Digitised Collections Online for further information on our digital resources.
Our collections are at one of two sites.
For disruption due to roofing works in 2024-2025, visit our guide. To make an appointment, please use our enquiry form. Appointments need to be made at least three working days in advance (at least three weeks notice is required for items at Ushaw), and we will need to know the full list of document references or shelfmarks of the items you wish to consult before we can confirm your booking. If you are unsure of how to do this or need assistance please contact us and we will be happy to help.
See information on Using Our Collections for further information on accessing our collections and on our facilities and services.
Details of opening times can be found in our Library Sites guide.
