Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Churches and Religion: Home

Please note

This guide is a work-in-progress. If you need information about a collection and you are unable to find it here, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us. Apologies for any inconvience or delay this may cause.

Introduction

Durham University Library and Collections holds extensive records relating to the churches and religion within the North East. Highlights include:

  • Collections associated with the Bishops of Durham, in relation to their position as head of the Church of England within the North East, to their secular powers as Prince Bishops, and to their estates
  • Durham Cathedral Archive, including one of Europe's best preserved collections of medieval monastic records
  • Collections relating to Catholic Studies, notably the records of Ushaw College (established 1808) and Lisbon College (founded 1624), and both libraries and archives from several female religious communities
  • Papers of theologians and thinkers associated with Church of England, Catholic and other churches within the region.

 See also guide to special collections ibraries relating to church history, female religious communities and the Society of Friends.

Discover

undefined

About our collections

Rare and Early Printed Books
Churches and Religion
Sudan Archive
Medieval Manuscripts
Local and Family History
Durham Light Infantry Medal Collection
Durham University Records
Durham Cathedral Collections
International Sources
Digitised Collections Online
Music, Literature and the Arts
Other Collections and Subjects

Contact us

Subject guides

The collections mentioned in this guide could be useful for a range of academic subjects taught at Durham University. The guides listed below also have information about other relevant resources.

Collection highlights

Archivist filmed with medieval deed in Palace Green Library

Archives and Special Collections podcasts and films

Online exhibitions (archive, library, museum and art collections)

Durham University Library and Collections blog

Archives and Special Collections Item of the Month

Durham Priory Library project blog

Binchester Exposed (Archaeology exhibition)