Archives and Special Collections: Sudan Archive: Blog

Sudan Archive news

Significant recent accessions to the Sudan Archive and related events will be reported on this blog. You are warmly encouraged to visit us or to get in touch, whether to further your own research, to suggest additional records we should try to collect, or to make a donation to the collections yourself.

Items marked with an asterisk are accruals to existing collections, details of the careers of which persons can be found published in the Summary Guide to the Sudan Archive or in each of their collections’ catalogues. Acquisitions of recent publications are not generally noted but are nevertheless received with deep thanks. Accessions generally remain uncatalogued for a period of time, but can usually be accessed on request. Newly digitised material from the collections is published online most weeks and can be browsed here.

Accessions to the Sudan Archive, July 2022-January 2023

• Anthony Ainslie: 1954 audio recording of "Sudanisation Blues", a song about British administrators' experience of the transition to independence in Sudan. Lyrics by J.W.  Haig and J.P.S. Daniell, sung to the tune of Offenbach's "Gendarmes' Duet"
• *Brendan Tuttle, archaeologist and anthropologist: additional photographs of Juba taken by Vonda Adorno, 1973-1975
• Western Sudan Community Museums project: 53 films edited by Mark Whatmore; some films include cinefilm footage from the Sudan Archive. The films are all available online at www.sudanmemory.org
• William Twining, legal scholar: papers relating to his legal work and time living in Sudan in the 1950s and 1960s, and continuing engagement with Sudanese affairs to 2022 (1 box)
• Andrew and Janet Persson, missionaries and linguists active in Ghana and Sudan, 1970s-2011: linguistic research papers relating to South Sudan and Ghana, chiefly Jur Mödö people in Mvolo area of W. Equatoria (6 boxes)
• Mark Reid, historian: 9 digital photographs of Egyptian Army personnel, 1890s-1920s
• Carolyn Murray, teacher and missionary active in South Sudan since 1976: papers concerning the history of the Mothers’ Union, Episcopal Church of Sudan (f. 1944); history of Immanuel Nursery School, Yei (f. 1986); biography of Esther Pone Seme Solomona 1942- (2017); photographs of 1983 Boma hostages and the negotiation team
• *J.W.G. Wyld (1896-1968), Sudan Political Service 1926-1950: 8 photographs
• Philip Ingleson (1892-1985), Sudan Political Service 1919-1944, including Governor of Halfa, Berber, Bahr-el-Ghazal and Darfur: letters, poems, photograph albums, printed material, including First World War service (France 1914-1918) and some papers of his wife Gwen (Fulton) and her family, 1909-1985 (6 boxes)