Take a look through the tabs below for a brief overview of each of our study space sites. Visit our Libraries and site information guide for further information on each of the sites, and our Study spaces guide provides more information about the types of study spaces available to you.
Location: Stockton Road, Durham, DH1 3LY
Opening times: Varies throughout the year - check our guide for current times
Bill Bryson Library (often referred to as the Billy B) is our main University Library. Located on Lower Mountjoy next to the Palatine Centre, the main entrance is on Library Square, opposite the Geography building. The Library has 1,750 study spaces and a fantastic range of resources to support your studies.
In the Library, you will find:
You might also get to meet our library mascot, Billy Bee! They make an appearance in the Library every now and then, and get up to all sorts over on our social media accounts on Facebook, X (previously known as Twitter), and Instagram!
Are you wondering what to expect when you first visit Bill Bryson Library? Take a look at our short video where we’ll show you where to find us, how to access the building and where some of our key services are located.
Location: Palace Green, Durham, DH1 3RN
Opening times: Monday-Friday, 10am-5pm (closed bank holidays and University closure days)
Durham University's Archives and Special Collections are held within the Barker Research Library, located in the historic Palace Green Library complex on Durham’s World Heritage Site. All the material held here is for reference use only, and you can make an appointment to visit and access our Archives and Special Collections.
There are a number of study spaces available in the Library. The space is bright and airy and is a silent study zone, making for a peaceful place to study and work.
To help us protect our collections housed in the building, food and drinks are not permitted in the Library and there are no refreshment facilities on site. However, there are lots of coffee shops and cafes nearby, which are perfect for when you need to take a break!
For more information on our collections, visit our Archives and Special Collections guide, and find out more about visiting the Barker Research Library on our Libraries and site information guide.
Location: Stockton Road, Durham, DH1 3LY
Opening times: Varies throughout the year - check our guide for current times
The Teaching and Learning Centre (also known as the TLC) is a short distance from Bill Bryson Library and provides space for individual and group study.
Our study spaces are located on the 2nd floor. There's a mixture of 400 individual, group and informal study spaces, including study desks, low seating, high bar tables and media tables. This light and modern space is ideal for both collaborative and quiet, individual study.
You'll need your Campus Card to access the building during evening opening times and weekends, so remember to bring it with you when you visit!
When you're ready to take a break from your studies, you'll find vending machines at the top of the stairs and a cafe, Zing, on the ground floor. There are also water fountains around the building and access to hot water on Level 2.
You can find out more about this study space on our Libraries and site information guide.
Location: University Boulevard, Thornaby, Stockton-on-Tees, TS17 6BH
Opening times: Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm (closed bank holidays and University closure days)
The International Study Centre (ISC) Library is for use by ISC students and staff at Queen's Campus, Stockton-on-Tees and can be found on level 2 of the Ebsworth Building. University staff and students who live in the area can also access these study spaces.
There are a range of spaces to suit your needs, including study desks, individual study rooms, a disability support study room and PC access. There's also a cafe available on the ground floor of the building.
For more information on using the ISC Library, please visit our dedicated guide.
Location: 83 New Elvet, Durham, DH1 3AQ
Opening times: Monday-Friday, 8am-6pm (during term time)
Located close to the city centre, Elvet Riverside has a number of study spaces available on the lower ground floor (Room A002) for quiet, individual study.
As with all our study spaces, the University Wi-Fi network is available in the building. There's no cafe on site, but you can bring your own lidded drinks in with you.
Remember to bring your Campus Card with you as identification to use the space.
For more information on using this space, visit our Study Spaces guide.
Location: Mill Hill Lane, Durham, DH1 3LB
Opening times: 24/7 (self-service space for Business School students only)
Situated on the lower floor of the University Business School is the Business School Study Hub. The Business School is located on Mill Hill Lane, at the top of the hill past the Oriental Museum, Van Mildert College and St. Aidan's College.
This space is only available to Business School students, with a reference collection of core texts available. You will need your Campus Card for swipe access to this space.
There are a number of study desks available, along with PCs and scanning and printing facilities. No food or drink is allowed in this space, but Fusion Restaurant is available on the same floor for a drink, snack or hot meal.
Location: Stockton Road, Durham, DH1 3LE
Opening times: Monday-Friday, 8am-6pm (during term time)
There are study spaces available in the Techno Cafes on the first and second floors of the Calman Learning Centre, which are suitable for individual and group study. The first-floor study spaces have large tables and PC access whilst on the second floor, there is comfy seating with access to power. There's also a cafe available on the ground floor.
For more information on using this space, visit our Study Spaces guide.
In addition to our study spaces, there are other alternative spaces available to all students across campus, as well as in your College library.
Find out more about the following:
Bookable spaces
We offer bookable study spaces in Bill Bryson Library, giving you the option to plan ahead or guarantee a study space for a certain time - visit our Space Booking system guide for more information.
Wi-Fi access
University Wi-Fi is available in and around all University buildings - visit My Digital Durham for information on how to set up access.
You'll need your Campus Card
Remember to bring your Campus Card with you whenever you visit our sites. You'll need it to gain access to some of our buildings, borrow items and access printing facilities, so make sure you keep it with you!
We're here to help
When you visit Bill Bryson Library and ISC Library, you can speak to our team at our Help and Information Desks to ask any questions you might have. Some of our sites are not staffed by us - if you have any library-related queries while you're there, you can get in touch with our friendly team through our live chat service.
You can get in touch through our live chat service or by email, and search our FAQs for answers to your questions.
Keep up to date by following our library social media accounts:
