Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Skills: Induction - DULC Essentials

A guide to help you improve your research skills: make the most of your time to find and retrieve the information you need.

Overview: Induction

This guide offers an introduction and guidance (primarily aimed at new staff and students) on some of the key skills and information you need to get started with using our library's resources; 

  1. Overview of our services: A short video introducing you to what University Library & Collections has to offer and how to get further help 
  2. Reading lists: For students on taught courses, a brief introduction to how to find and explore reading lists for their modules.
  3. Library Discover & Catalogue: Guidance on how to use these core Library tools to explore and discover our collections.

Check out our The Basics: Tools for Full Text Access guide for free tools available for you to help find, access and download the full text of articles online, in particular when using our services from off campus.

Induction Video

Watch our short Induction Video aimed at new staff and students, to provide a flavour of the support and services available to you from University Library and Collections.

Using the Library Catalogue

The short 90-second video below provides a quick demonstration of how to search the Library Catalogue by the title of a book you are interested in.

The short 1 minute video below provides a quick demonstration of how to search the Library Catalogue for works by an author you are interested in.

The short 70 second video below provides a quick demonstration of how to search the Library Catalogue to see if we subscribe to a particular journal you are interested in.

The short 90 second video below provides a quick overview of how to interpret the journal title results screen within the Library Catalogue.

Using Discover

The short 80-second video below provides a quick demonstration of how to find a book you need on Library Discover.

The short 40-second video below provides a quick demonstration of how to find a journal or journal article you need on Library Discover.

The short 2-minute video below provides a quick demonstration of how to find wider reading on a topic using Library Discover.

What is Discover?

Discover is our discovery tool to explore across our collections. Although it does not search across everything we have access to, and may not offer the advanced search options some subject databases will provide, it is a useful initial tool to search for resources such as books, eBooks and journal articles, as well as explore our museum and archives collections.


 

Reading Lists

Reading Lists

(Taught Students) You can access your module reading lists through TALIS Aspire, directly from the Library homepage (follow the My reading list link under Quick links)

From there, you can search for your module reading list by title or module code. Check out our blog post to explore a quick preview of some of the other features available to you which you might have missed!

Reading Lists screenshot


Teaching Staff: Check out our Guide on Reading Lists for support in ensuring your module reading lists are available for your students.


 

undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined