Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Skills: Database alerts

A guide to help you improve your research skills: make the most of your time to find and retrieve the information you need.

Overview - Database alerts

Most academic databases will allow you to set up alert services, usually using email or RSS, which will alert you to any new articles which you may be interested in. This Guide provides some examples and links to tutorials for creating alerts in different database platforms. you can set up search alerts in most academic databases to email you when:

  • New articles are published/indexed which match keywords you have selected.
  • New articles are available from particular authors or journals.

Scopus: Search Alerts

Scopus

Scopus is a multidisciplinary database covering over 19,000 journals, conference proceedings and other publications. You can save and manage multiple alerts in Scopus by registering for a personal account.

A guide on how to set up a search alert can be found on the Scopus Support pages here.

Web of Science: Search Alerts

Web of Science, like Scopus, is a multidisciplinary database covering over 12,000 journals, conference proceedings and other publications. This video provides a quick demonstration to show you how to set up a search alert within Web of Science.

Proquest

Proquest Search Alerts

The Proquest platform provides access to databases including ASSIA, ERIC, IBSS, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, Political Science Database, Sociological Abstracts)

You can access a guide for how to register a 'My Research' account and set up a search alert here.

Google Scholar - Search Alerts

Google Scholar

You can also set up an email alert for any search you run in Google Scholar, by clicking on the icon to the left of the search results. At the foot of each email you receive, there is an option to cancel the alert, to help you manage any which send you too many results.

Google Scholar: Search Alerts

Ebsco Databases

EbscoHOst Databases (screenshot, link to EbscoHost guide)

The Ebscohost platform provides access to databases including Anthropology Plus, ATLA, British Education Index, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, EconLit, ERIC, Historical Abstracts, MLA International Bibliograpy, Philosopher's Index, PsycINFO, RILM, SPORTDiscus)

You can access a guide for how to set up a search alert here.

JSTOR

JSTOR users: Please note that JSTOR have withdrawn the facility to set up an email or RSS alert to searches of their content.

undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined