Open access publishing is not just for journal articles and conference papers. Publishers are increasing the options available to you to make your long-form publications open access as well.
Below you will find details of what some publishers offer in terms of gold open access (making your final, published version open access from the publisher's website from publication) and green open access/self-archiving (making the accepted manuscript open access via a repository).
It is important to note that where a publisher offers gold open access there is likely to be a Book Processing Charge or Chapter Processing Charge to pay (plus VAT). You may find that these costs can be met by an external funder. If you are acknowledging Wellcome funding, please see the information on their webpages. Long-form publications published from 1st January 2024 are in-scope for the new UKRI policy and funds may be available for eligible authors. Authors acknowledging UK Research Council funding may find our UKRI Policy (Longform Publications) page helpful.
If you would like to make your book or book chapter open access via Durham Research Online (DRO), please contact the DRO Team for further advice and guidance.
The following publishers offer green open access (whole book manuscript option): Policy Press (see Bristol University Press), Peter Lang, Amsterdam University Press, Bristol University Press, Central European University Press, Edinburgh University Press, Liverpool University Press and University of London Press.
More publishers' book policies are discoverable via Jisc's OA Tool of Books: https://beta.sherpa.ac.uk/oa-books
| Publisher | Gold OA option (open access from the publisher's website, immediately upon publication). | Green OA option (open access through a repository such as DRO) |
|---|---|---|
| Amsterdam University Press |
Available for monographs or edited collections. |
Whole book No embargo. |
| Bloomsbury Academic | Available for short monographs, monographs, handbooks and edited collections. | Single book chapter or author’s own chapter Accepted manuscript/publisher version, 6 month embargo. |
| Brill |
Available for individual book chapters of edited collections only. |
Chapter within edited collection Accepted manuscript, no embargo. More details here. |
| Bristol University Press | Available for monographs. Fees vary according to length of publication. |
Whole monograph |
| Cambridge University Press | Available for monographs. | Single book chapter Accepted manuscript/publisher version, 6 month embargo |
| Central European University Press | Available for whole books. |
Whole book |
| De Gruyter | Available for monographs and collected volumes. | - |
| Edinburgh University Press |
Available for monographs and individual book chapters. |
Whole monograph |
| Edward Elgar Publishing | Available for books. | Single book chapter Submitted manuscript, 6 month embargo |
| Elsevier | Available for books and book chapters. |
Elsevier's most recent update: Authors wishing to self-archive book chapters can continue to reach out to Global Rights to seek the relevant permissions. The Global Rights team may be contacted using this link. |
| Liverpool University Press |
Available for books and individual book chapters. |
Whole monograph |
| Manchester University Press | Available for monographs, edited volumes and individual book chapters. | Single book chapter Accepted manuscript, 18 month embargo. A Chapter Processing Charge (CPC) applies. |
| Oxford University Press | Available for monographs. |
Single book chapter for a single-authored monograph As of 10th July 2024, OUP has unfortunately decided to only permit 25% of a chapter that is included in a multi-author work to be deposited in an author's institutional repository |
| Open Book Publishers |
No requirement for authors to pay. (funded through print sales and Library Consortium Membership) |
N/A - Open Access Publisher |
| Palgrave Macmillan | Available for academic books and individual book chapters. | Author’s own chapter or up to 10% Accepted Manuscript, 24 month embargo |
| Peter Lang | Available for monographs and individual book chapters of edited collections. |
Full Monographs: Accepted manuscript, 12 months embargo period; Edited collection: Each chapter individually (accepted version), embargo period 12 months |
| Sage | Available for monographs. | Archiving Policy Access here May need to contact Sage directly for permission. |
| Springer | Available for books and individual book chapters. |
Accepted manuscript |
| Taylor & Francis / Routledge |
Available for books and individual book chapters. |
Single book chapter |
| Ubiquity Press |
Available for books. |
N/A – Open Access Publisher |
| UCL Press |
Available for monographs, short monographs, edited volumes, and textbooks. |
N/A – Open Access Publisher |
| Available for books. |
Whole book |
|
| White Rose |
Available for monographs. |
N/A – Open Access Publisher |
