Our Services - Decolonising your reading list toolkit: Step 4 Meet diverse ranges of reading resources

Use the below tools and websites to access publications from across the world. Use the decolonisation approaches you decided on from Step 2 and the keywords that are identified in Step.3. Let’s try to find more diverse and inclusive readings!  

University resources  

• Starting your search - Research Skills - Guides at Durham University 
• Durham University Library - Discover 
• Guides BY SUBJECT - Guides at Durham University 
• Durham University Museum collections Search Our Collections - Durham University 
• Durham University Archives and Special Collections
• Publisher Deals - Library Research Support: Open Research - Guides at Durham University 
• Access to all UK university libraries: SCONUL Access scheme

Multidisciplinary world searching 

• Scopus 
• Google Scholar  
• Lens.org: Free academic paper catalogue where you can do a regional search for publications. It gives research distribution graphs with date, regions and institutions.  You can filter papers related to a certain topic from specific countries by "Institution Country/ Region".

(Lens.org academic paper research and filtering into regions) 

Databases around the world  

• Suppliers for African material – Decolonising through critical librarianship 
• Suppliers for Middle Eastern and Asian material in various languages – Decolonising through critical librarianship 
• Communities of African descent within the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France African Diaspora, 1860-Present
• Great collection of decolonisation reading resources from pp26 - Revealing the Lived Experience of Black, Asian, and Minority Ethnic People in Wales
• Finding research from underrepresented voices in Global South
• Black Women Radicals Database (BWRD)

When you find good reading resources, you can easily add to Talis Aspire reading list using the bookmarking tool

• Using the Talis Aspire bookmarking tool (video)
• Adding items to your Talis Aspire Reading lists (video)
• Guidance on how to use Talis Aspire
• All students and staff can request resources to support decolonisation through our Liberate My Library request service
• Database alerts - Research Skills - Guides at Durham University