Our Services - Decolonising your reading list toolkit: Useful Resource List

How diverse is your reading list? Exploring issues of representation and decolonisation in the UK

Cross-disciplinary, collaborative and student-led: developing a change process for diversifying reading lists

Decolonising through critical librarianship

Decolonisation and Anti-Racism

Rewriting Peace and Conflict: a virtual encyclopaedia compiling writings about de- and postcolonial perspectives on peace & conflict research.

Discover: Search Archive Collections

Discover: Search Book Collections

All database collections in library: A-Z database

Durham University Records: Archives and Special Collections

Making request for a new library purchase (academic colleagues requestiing items for reading lists should use Talis Aspire)

Do you have any more questions? You can contact us through our live chat service or by emailing library@durham.ac.uk

When seeking materials and perspectives from under-represented voices in Classics and Ancient History, you may find the following resources and suggestions helpful:

Resources

• JISCMail discussion list. An area to discuss themes, ideas, events, and work aimed at decolonising classics, classical studies, ancient history, and archaeology (including reception studies and teaching and learning).

• Bibliography of black-centered resources for Ancient Mediterranean Studies. On-going curated bibliography highlighting and promoting the work and scholarship of Black thinkers, helping scholars in Classics to engage in Black theory and scholarship to make the discipline more diverse and inclusive.

• Articles collated in the EIDOLON journal:
  • About race & Classics.
  • About sex, gender, & Classics.

• There are some further recommendations in the University of Reading’s guide:

When searching for literature

To identify voices from under-represented geographies, you may wish to make use of the Countries and places filter in L’Annee Philologique and similar options in broader bibliographic search tools where there are options to limit by geography or language, such as the Web of Science's country/region filter and Scopus's country/territory filter. Sometimes these can be selected prior to submitting your search terms, other times they need to be applied once an initial set of results is in place.

Bibliography

It could be beneficial to pool institutional expertise in this area by updating this bibliography of books, journal articles and wider resources as you encounter relevant materials.