Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: DLI Medals Collection: Home

Introduction

The Durham Light Infantry’s collection of over 3000 medals is currently on loan to Durham University and held at Palace Green Library.

Medals are not on display, but members of the public are able to view by appointment individual medals or groups of medals from the collection in the Barker Research Library within Palace Green Library. This facility is open to anyone, once they have registered with the Library, which involves completing a form and providing proof of identity.

The Barker Research Library is currently open (by appointment) 10am - 4pm Monday to Friday. Please contact pg.library@durham.ac.uk to make an appointment.

Further information about using Special Collections at Palace Green Library can be found on our Libraries and site information guide.

To find out more about the Medal collection and search or browse information by surname, see this online catalogue, published by Durham County Council.

For any other queries about the medal collection please contact

dlicollectionenquiries@durham.gov.uk or

DLI Collection Enquiries
Sevenhills,
Greenhills Business Park,
Enterprise Way,
Spennymoor
DL16 6JB

Telephone: 03000 266 631

Access to original sources

The collections mentioned above are located at Palace Green Library.  Our current opening hours are below.

  • Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday: closed
  • Sunday: closed

At the moment, we offer a limited appointment-only service at Palace Green Library and need at least 3 days' notice of your intended visit.  Please contact us using our online booking form if you would like to book a research slot.

See separate Libraries and Site Information guide for further information on Palace Green Library.

Discover

undefined

About our collections

Rare and Early Printed Books
Churches and Religion
Sudan Archive
Medieval Manuscripts
Local and Family History
Durham Light Infantry Medal Collection
Durham University Records
Durham Cathedral Collections
International Sources
Digitised Collections Online
Music, Literature and the Arts
Other Collections and Subjects

Contact us

Collection highlights

Archivist filmed with medieval deed in Palace Green Library

Archives and Special Collections podcasts and films

Online exhibitions (archive, library, museum and art collections)

Durham University Library and Collections blog

Archives and Special Collections Item of the Month

Durham Priory Library project blog

Binchester Exposed (Archaeology exhibition)