The Durham Light Infantry’s collection of over 3000 medals is currently on loan to Durham University and held at Palace Green Library.
Medals are not on display, but members of the public are able to view by appointment individual medals or groups of medals from the collection in the Barker Research Library within Palace Green Library. This facility is open to anyone, once they have registered with the Library, which involves completing a form and providing proof of identity.
The Barker Research Library's opening hours and details of how to make an appointment, and further information about using Special Collections at Palace Green Library can all be found on our Libraries and site information guide.
To find out more about the Medal collection and search or browse information by surname, see this online catalogue, published by Durham County Council.
For any other queries about the medal collection please contact
dlicollectionenquiries@durham.gov.uk or
DLI Collection Enquiries
Sevenhills,
Greenhills Business Park,
Enterprise Way,
Spennymoor
DL16 6JB
Telephone: 03000 266 631
Click on the linked image below to open the search interface for all our library, archive and museum collections. Further guidance for searching the archives and special collections is available on our website.
The collections mentioned above are located at Palace Green Library. Our current opening hours are below.
For further information on visiting to use the collections, please use our enquiry form.
See separate Libraries and Site Information guide for further information on Palace Green Library.
Archives and Special Collections podcasts and films
Online exhibitions (archive, library, museum and art collections)
Durham University Library and Collections blog
Archives and Special Collections Item of the Month
Durham Priory Library project blog
Binchester Exposed (Archaeology exhibition)