Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research Support: Training

Support for Research Staff & Research Students

Overview - Researcher Training

This guide provides an overview of the training offered by the Library through the Research Development Programme and other training programs at Durham University. It provides:

  • An overview of the training programme offered.
  • Some self-guided training, including short videos and slide-decks based around existing face-to-face workshops.

Self-guided: Library Induction

Self-guided: Library Basics

I series of short videos showing you how to use the Library Catalogue, Library Discover and how to install and use our viaDurham browser plugin.

Library Basics

Self-guided: Effective Searching

A series of slide presentations showing you how to construct an effective search strategy, including identifying keywords, using boolean connectors, wildcards and proximity connectors, and the importance of citation searching.

Effective Search Strategy Construction (photo of chess pieces)

Researcher Development Programme

Researcher Development Programme

The Library provides training throughout the academic year. Workshops are advertised through DCAD's Researcher Development Programme and are bookable through the training booking system.

The Library also provides additional inductions, updates and training through academic departments, delivered by your Faculty Librarian or Research Support Librarian.

Researcher Development Programme Outline 2020-21

 

Example Resources

Here we will provide links to additional resources from workshops we run (or usually run).

What others have said...

  • “step by step instructions and one-to-one help” Subject databases
  • “Good. Fast. Relevant.” Subject databases
  • “I found it useful … I think many people have only a superficial understanding of GS even if they use it daily.” Google Scholar
  • “Makes a practical difference to how I will search the web.” Google Scholar
  • “step by step guide, and time for students to practice ourselves.” Doctoral Theses
  • “Very clear whilst taking us through the different options” Historic Newspapers
  • “It was an incredibly useful workshop … it gave me a real example of different search strategies.” Effective Search Strategies
  • “Style of presentation was good, involvement of the 2 presenters was good, encouraged a range of critical approaches to literature.” Critical Reading
  • “My departmental library induction was far too brief. More helpful information was given in this session.”Introduction to the Library for PGRs
  • “Very clearly structured, looking at the type of search and then the required technique” Effective Search Strategies
  • “The topic was new to me, so was pitched at exactly the right level” Managing and Sharing Research Data
  • “Both theoretical and practical… Features of databases that I ignored before” Subject Databases
  • “Left with an awareness of how easy it is to follow the rules of copyright, and some of the dangers of not doing so.” Copyright
  • “helped provide me with the basic information on Journal Impact and where to find information such as an author's h-index. It will be useful for future journal submission consideration.” Tracking your Research Impact
  • “Caught me out in my own bad habits.” Critical Reading
  • “It was an incredibly useful workshop - one of the best I have attended. The chance to practice was good since it gave me a real example (applied to my research)” Effective Search Strategies

Researcher Development Programme: Overview of Feedback 2019-20

undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined