Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Guide: Sociology: Develop Your Skills

A guide to getting the most out of the Library and Collections resources for Sociology

Ask DULib

undefined

Finding Open Access material and other useful tools

These short videos show you how to find open access, high-quality academic resources that you can access for free or how to make accessing some of Durham’s online content even easier: 

ViaDurham

Google Scholar Button

Unpaywall

Our Interactive tutorials

Develop your research skills with our online tutorials. This will help you understand how to search effectively and how to identify good quality academic resources and literature.

You can complete the whole tutorial or just a single module. Module 1 is mainly aimed at dissertation students. All other modules will help students at all levels:

1. Introduction to dissertation research

2. Catalogue and discover

3. Basic literature searching

4. Bibliographic databases

5. Accessing full text online

6. Referencing

7. Your reading list and beyond

8. The Information Cycle

9. Plagiarism and copyright in the academic context

Discover more about how you can use archives, special collections and museum collections to enhance your work: 

Using archives and special collections in your research

Research in museums and galleries

Palaeography

Interactive tutorials

Introduction to Dissertation Research
Catalogue and Discover
Basic Literature Searching
Bibliographic Databases
Accessing Full Test Online
Referencing

Research Skills Guide

Our Research Skills Guide provides guidance on finding information, managing the information you find, and how to keep up to date after an initial search. It aims to provide you with an overview of the core skills you will need to search for literature and other materials for your learning and research purposes.

Research Skills Banner

More Books

 

undefined

Additional Resources

There are a number of how to" videos demonstrating how to achieve specific things such as finding books and journals, accessing your reading list and finding quality information freely-available online.

Social media

undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined  undefined