Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Other Collections and Sources: Microforms

Our collections

There is an extensive range of microfilms available on open access in the Barker Research Library. Perhaps the most significant, and the most heavily used, are the microfilms of local newspapers, especially Durham's own Advertiser (back to 1814) and Chronicle (back to 1820) , invaluable for all aspects of local historical research into the 19th and 20th centuries. The newspapers also include a number of publications of the 18th and earlier 19th centuries for other parts of the North East, such as Newcastle, Gateshead, Sunderland and Stockton.

Other series of microfilms available include the Harvester Press series of bishops' registers, and some medieval cartularies of English cathedrals.

The collection of microfiche is not so extensive but does include the national probate indexes for post 1858.

Availability online (digital images)

These collections have not been digitised, so that only the catalogues are currently available online.

If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.

If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose.  Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.

See also our guide to Digitised Collections Online for further information on our digital resources.

Access to original sources

The collections mentioned above are located at Palace Green Library.  Our current opening hours are below.

  • Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday: closed
  • Sunday: closed

For further information on visiting to use the collections, please see our Visiting Guide.

See separate Libraries and Site Information guide for further information on Palace Green Library.

Contact us