Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Other Collections and Sources: Designated Collections

Our collections

The Designation Scheme was first launched in 1997 under the auspices of what eventually became the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council (MLA) and originally covered only museum collections. It was expanded to include libraries and archives in 2005 with responsibility being transferred to the Arts Council in 2011 on the demise of the MLA. 

As of 2020, there are 152 Designated collections held in organisations across the whole of England. 4 of them are in Durham University's Libraries and Collections, with two of those in Archives and Special Collections.

These outstanding collections recognised by the Designation Scheme demonstrate the immense richness and variety of the collections held in England's museums, libraries and archives. They are world class collections which are a lasting source of inspiration and enjoyment for generations of users and Designation exists to promote and increase access to them for all. 

Bishop John Cosin's Library, opened in 1669, is one of ASC's two collections awarded designated status in 2005.

The Sudan Archive, established in Durham in 1957, was one of two ASC collections awarded designated status in 2005.

Access to original sources

The collections mentioned above are located at Palace Green Library.  Our current opening hours are below.

  • Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday: closed
  • Sunday: closed

For further information on visiting to use the collections, please see our Visiting Guide.

See separate Libraries and Site Information guide for further information on Palace Green Library.

Contact us