Archives and Special Collections: Other Collections and Sources: Lists of Collections

See our guide to the Sudan Archive for further details of these collections, digitised collections of maps and reports, and other information.

• Acland, P.B.E.
• Addison, F.
• Aglen, E.F.
• Aglen, P.M.
• Ahfad University for Women, Omdurman
• Alban, A.H.A.
• Allan, W.N.
• Allison, O.C.
• Andrews, W.J.R.
• Arber, H.B.
• Arbuthnot, E.D.
• Archer, G.F.
• Archibald, R.G.
• Arensen, J.E.
• Arguile, R.T.
• Arkell, A.J.
• Armbruster, C.H.
• Arthur, A.J.V.
• Ashford, H.N.
• Atiyah family
• Atterbury, F.
• Audas, R.S.
• Austin, H.H.
• Austin, S.T.
• Ayres, H.F.
• Baillie-Strong, W.
• Baily, R.E.H.
• Baker, E.G.
• Baldry, F.E.
• Balfour, A.
• Balfour, E.A.
• Balfour, F.C.C.
• Baring, A.
• Barnett, T.
• Barter, G.H.
• Beasley, I.M.
• Beckinsale, F.T.
• Beer, C.W.
• Bell, G.W.
• Bennett, G.D.
• Bickersteth, E.J.
• Biles, T.
• Blaikie, J.A.A.
• Bloss, J.F.E.
• Blunt, H.S.
• Blyth, G.F.P.
• Boardman, F. R.
• Bolland, A.P.
• Bollard, E.G.
• Bolton, A.R.C.
• Bonfanti, A.
• Booth, G.
• Boscott, A.J.
• Bowcock, P.P.
• Brain, R.
• Bran, H.
• Bredin, G.R.F.
• Bridgman, G.B.
• Bright, J.A.
• Broadbent, P.B.
• Broadhurst, R.J.C.
• Brocklehurst, J.F.
• Brown, W.B.E.
• Brown Sassoon, J.
• Browne, C.P.
• Brownell, C.M.
• Bruce-Gardyne, I. M.
• Bryson, P. C.
• Buchanan, L.M.
• Bulkeley, R.I.P.
• Bullen, H.B.
• Bunsen, C. de
• Butler, S.S.
• Calder, D. and M.
• Cameron, A.
• Cameron, J.
• Cameron, J.N.
• Campbell, E.
• Carless, T.F.G. and K.M.
• Carlisle, B.A.
• Carmichael, J.
• Carter, A.F.J.
• Carter, H.
• Cass, J. A.
• Chappell, L.W.
• Charlton, C.E.G. and Macleod K.M.
• Charlton, F.N.
• Christopherson, J.B.
• Clarke, W.P.D.
• Claydon, S.J.
• Clayton, G.F.
• Cliff, I.C.
• Cloudsley-Thompson, A. and J.L.
• Collins, R.O.
• Cooke, J.F.
• Cooper, R.M.
• Corlass, H.T.
• Corlass, H.T.
• Cox, C.W.M.
• Crawford, W. F.
• Crispin, E.S.
• Crole, G.B.
• Crompton, C.W.L.
• Crowfoot, J.W. and G.M.
• Crowther, F.
• Cruickshank, Dr A.
• Culwick, G.M.
• Cumming, D.C.
• Cumming, J.F.
• Cummins, J.W.
• Cunningham, St C. U.
• Cunnison, I.
• Daly, M.W.
• Daniell, J.P.S.
• Darvall, R.J. and E.I.B.
• Davies, H.R.J.
• Davies, R.
• Dee, B.D.McD.
• Dening, B.H.
• Dick, J.H.
• Dickens, P. M.
• Dingwall, R.G.
• Disney, A.W.M.
• Donald, J.C.N.
• Doornbos, P.
• Douglas, I.W.
• Drew, C.B.
• Driver, D.C.
• Duncan, J.S.R.
• Dunn, S.C.
• Dupuis, C.G.
• Eastwood, G.A. and T.
• Edmonds, J.M.
• Edwards, J.C.
• Elderton, R.P.S.
• Espeland, A.
• Evans, D.M.H.
• Evans, F.G.
• Evans, J.T.R.
• Evans, M.G.L. Gildea
• Evans, T.
• Eyre, V.E.F.
• Fair, J.G.
• Falke-Johnson, A.
• Farbrother, H.G.
• Farley, J.J.B.
• Farrell, H.B.McD.
• Fawkes, R.E.F.
• Ferguson, H.
• Fernández Martínez, V.M.
• Finlay, F.H.R.
• Flavell, E.C.L.
• Fleming, G.J.
• Fleming, M.H.V.
• Foley, G.F. and H.F.
• Forbes, W.A.H.
• Forster, A.J.
• Forster, E.F.O.
• Fouracres, C.E.
• Franklin, H.C.
• Franks, G.McK.
• Gaitskell, A.
• Garrett, R.C.
• Gay, P.A.
• Gibbons, E.P.
• Gibson, A.N.
• Gill, W.H.
• Gillan, J.A.
• Gillespie, I.A.
• Glanville, W.H.
• Goodenough, W.H.
• Gordon Memorial College Trust Fund
• Gray, J.M.
• Gray, R.W. and O.A.
• Gwynne, L.H.
• Hagger, N.J.W.
• Hamilton, J.A. de C.
• Harrison, G.F.
• Hart, E.M.
• Harvey, C.R.
• Harwood, F.L.
• Haselden, E.C.
• Hassan, R.
• Haunch, T.O.
• Hawkes, R.
• Hayes, K.H.J.O.
• Haymes, H. E.
• Haywood, J.A.
• Hebbert, H. E.
• Heinekey, G.A.
• Henderson, K.D.D.
• Herbert, E.S.
• Hicks, W.
• Hicks, W. J.
• Hill, R. L.
• Hillelson, S.
• Hills-Young, E.
• Hitch, B.M.
• Hodgkin, R.A.
• Hogg, P.
• Holt, P.M.
• House, A.H.
• Howe, R.G.
• Howell, P.P.
• Howie, A. and J.
• Humphreys, L.E.
• Hunt, F.B.
• Hunt, L.S.J.
• Hunter, A.
• Hunter, G.G.
• Hunter, Y.
• Ingleson, P. and G.
• Ingram, J.H.
• Jackson, E.
• Jackson, H.C.
• James, L.
• Jane, E.
• Jephson, A.J.M.
• Johnson, D.H.
• Johnson, N.W.
• Johnston, R.T.
• Juba Round Table Conference 1965
• Juba University
• Justice Africa
• Kelly, H.H.
• Kendall, C.B.
• Kennedy, M.R.
• Kennedy-Cooke, B.
• Kenny, W.D.
• Kenrick, J.W.
• Kenrick, R.C.
• Khartoum Cathedral
• Kilner, T.P.
• King, G.R.
• King, H.J.
• Kingdon, F.D.
• Kinmonth, W.
• Kirk-Greene, A.H.M.
• Lagu, J.
• Lampen, G.D.
• Laurie, W.G.R.M.
• Law, W.N.P.
• Lawrence, J.N.
• Lea, C.A.E.
• Leach, T.A.
• Leitch, T.A.T.
• Lewis, B.A.
• Lewis, D.
• Lewis, D.J.
• Lewis, L.
• Lloyd, H.D.W.
• Longe, J.
• Luce, W.H.T.
• Lush, M.S.
• McComas, R.G.
• McDowall, W.C.
• MacGill, R.C.S.
• Mackintosh, B.I.
• Macintosh, E.H.
• McJannet, F.D.
• MacLeod, N.
• MacMichael, H.A.
• McNeill, T.
• Macphail, J.G.S.
• Madden, J.F.
• Mangan, J.A.
• Manton, C.H.
• Manton, E.L.
• Manwell, L.
• Marino, A.
• Marsden, J.
• Martin, G.H.
• Martin, L.
• Masson, A.D.H.
• Mather, W.
• Matthew, J.G.
• Maunsell, R.L.D.
• Mavrogordato, J.G.
• Maxwell, J.G.
• Mayall, R.C.
• Mayne, F.S.
• Mellor, J.E.M.
• Metcalfe, C.B.
• Miller, J.W.E.
• Milligan, S.L.
• Milward, C.A.
• Miscellaneous Small Donations
• Moir, S.B.
• Moir, T.R.G.
• Monteith, W.N.
• Morgan, C.E.F.
• Morgan, W.T.W.
• Morris, E.W.T.
• Mulholland, P.D.
• Murray, F.C.
• Mynors, T.H.B.
• Nalder, L.F.
• Neilson, J.R.
• Newbold, D.
• Newcombe, E.O.A.
• Nicholls, W.
• Nicholson, D.H.
• Nicholson, H.A.
• Nikkel, M.R.
• North, C.W.
• O'Meara, A.J.
• Oberst, H.
• Orlebar, J.O.
• Owen, T.R.H.
• Parker, A.C.
• Parr, M.W.
• Parry, J.I.
• Paul, A.
• Penesi, E.
• Penn, A.E.D.
• Perry, W.A.C.
• Phillips, J.F.S.
• Piercy, C.H.Z.
• Piper, W.G.
• Polden, A.W.
• Porter, W.A.
• Power, G.W.
• Pridie, E.D.
• Quinlan, H.
• Redfern, A.S.
• Rehfisch, F.M.
• Richmond, J.
• Riley, A.B.H. and G.B.M.
• Ritchie, J.A.B.
• Robbie, J.
• Roberts, R.C.
• Robertson, A.C.
• Robertson, J.W.
• Robeson, A.B.
• Robinson, A.E.
• Robinson, R.
• Romilly, H.A.
• Root, W. and G.
• Roper, H.L.
• Rosenberg, D.
• Russell, M and M.
• Ryder, C.F.
• Ryle, J.R.
• Sandars, G.E.R.
• Sanderson, G.N.
• Sanderson, L.P.
• Sandison, P.J.
• Sarsfield-Hall, E.G.
• Savile, R.V.
• Saville, D.
• Scott, G.C.
• Scott-Hill, W.
• Scott-Villiers, A.
• Sembiante, F.M.
• Semevsky, J.
• Sharland, L.W.C.
• Shaw, J.R.
• Shepherd, A. W.
• Shuqair, S.
• Simons, J.A.
• Simpson, S.R.
• Slatin, R.C. von
• Smith, C.H.
• Smith, E.J. and E.A.
• Smith, J.
• Smith, L.K.
• Smith, M.G.
• Smith, R.J.
• S.O.S. Sahel International UK 
• Souper, J.L.
• Spence, B.H.H.
• Stallybrass, T.W.
• Stansfield, F.
• Stanton, G.M.
• Stanton, J.P.
• Staveley, C.M.
• Sterry, W.
• Stevens, H.L.
• Stevenson, R.C.
• Stewart, J.D. Hamill
• Storrar, G.R.
• Struvé, K.C.P. and M.E.
• Sudan Mercantile Company (Motors)
• Sudan Plantations Syndicate Ltd
• Summerfield, R.M.
• Sunderland, F.H.
• Syme, N.R.
• Taylor, E.A.P. von S.
• Thomas, G.F. and F.I.
• Thomson, C.H.
• Thomson, D.S.B.
• Thruston, A.B.
• Tibbs, G.M.G. and A. R.
• Titherington, G.W.
• Tothill, J.D.
• Tottenham, P.M.
• Tracey, C.B.
• Turner, A.S.
• Twining, W.L.
• Udal, J.O.
• Udal, N.R.
• Unity High School
• Ure, N.H.
• Vicars-Miles, A.L.W.
• Vidal-Hall, M.P.
• Vidler, D.
• Vokes, V.H.G.
• Voulich, B.
• Wakefield, R.C.
• Watson, J.R.S.
• Watt, D.A.F.
• Wedd, R.
• Wells, P.T.M.
• Wesson, A.D.
• Wheatley, M.J.
• Williams, C.R.
• Williams, C.W.
• Williams, I.R.
• Williams, W.M.
• Willis, C.A.
• Wilson, C.E.
• Winder, J.
• Wingate, General F.R.
• Wingate, R.E.L.
• Wolfe, J.M.B.
• Wolff, M.E. and G.L.
• Wollen, W.R.G.
• Wood, E.
• Wood, G.C.
• Wood, G.K.
• Wood, K.M.E.
• Wood, W.
• Woodman, H.M.
• Wyld, J.W.G.

These collections are owned by the trustees of Ushaw College.  Durham University Library and Collections staff undertake cataloguing of the collections and provide access for researchers.  See webpage on our Partner Libraries for information on Ushaw College Library.

• A. C. Leonard Papers
• Bernard Payne Papers
• Big Library (Ushaw College)
• Bishop Thomas Walsh's letters to the Earl of Shrewsbury
• Bishops' Appointments
• Bourne Family Papers
• British Council of Churches: Roman Catholic Papers
• Charles Newsham Papers
• Divines Library (Ushaw College)
• Dodding Green Parish Library
• Douai Miscellany
• Edward Towers Papers
• Edwin Bonney Correspondence
• English Martyrs Papers
• Eyre Papers
• Fabré Papers
• Francis Thompson Papers
• G. E. Phillips Papers
• Haydock Family Papers
• Jacobite Papers
• John Barrow Papers
• John Henry Newman Letters
• John Joseph Hornyold Papers
• John Lingard Papers
• John Smith of Brooms Papers
• John Walker Papers
• Joseph Bamber Papers
• Lancaster Catholic Diocese Archives and Manuscripts
• Lancaster Diocese Parish Library
• Lawrence McReavy Papers
• Lisbon College Archive
• Lisbon College Library
• Louis Casartelli Papers
• Lower Library (Ushaw College)
• Manning Letters
• Merry del Val Papers
• Middlesbrough Diocese Parish Library
• Miscellaneous Sermons in Ushaw College Library
• Nicholas Wiseman Papers
• Northern English Vicariate/Diocesan Papers
• Northern Vicariate Mission Papers
• Old Miscellany Collection
• Oscott Papers
• Papers of Alan Hawkins
• Patrick FitzPatrick Papers
• Periodicals Library (Ushaw College)
• Philip Hughes Papers
• Radclyffe/Derwentwater Papers
• Richard Russell Papers
• St Cuthbert's Parish Library
• St Cuthbert's Society (Ushaw) Papers
• Tate-Slater Letters
• Thomas Wilkinson Papers
• Ushaw Collection of Manuscripts
• Ushaw College Additional Manuscripts
• Ushaw College Administrative Records
• Ushaw College Catholic History Research Papers
• Ushaw College History Papers
• Ushaw Presidents' Archive
• Vincent Eyre Manuscripts
• Weldbank Catholic Parish Archives and Manuscripts
• Weldbank Catholic Parish Library
• Wilberforce Letters
• William Brown Papers
• William Vincent Smith Research Papers

Some of Durham Cathedral's archive collections are managed by cathedral staff, while others are in the custody of the university and held at Palace Green Library.  For further information on these collections, see our Guide to Durham Cathedral Collections.

At Barker Research Library (within Palace Green Library)

• Durham Cathedral Archive
• Durham Cathedral Old Choristers' Association Records
• Additional Manuscripts (Durham Cathedral), including Addleshaw Papers, Woodness Manuscripts, Durham and York Deeds
• Gordon Berriman Church Service Papers
• Dean Comber Papers
• Archdeacon Coxe Correspondence
• Eric Dawson-Walker Papers
• Ferens Service Papers
• William Footitt Collection
• Bishop Habgood Alternative Service Book Files
• Canon Hopkins Papers
• J.J. Howe Collection
• Kepier Hospital Deeds
• Bishop Joseph Lightfoot Papers
• Ralph Nelson Files
• Bishop I.T. Ramsey Papers
• Sherburn Hospital Deeds
• Silksworth Deeds
• Red House Surtees Manuscripts
• Bishop Tucker Papers
• Canon Turner Files
• Van Mildert/Thorp Correspondence
• Bishop Williams Papers

At Durham Cathedral Library (buildings within the cloisters)

• Durham Cathedral Library manuscript books
• Prints, Drawings and Plans (not currently available)
• George Allan Manuscripts
• Bishop Chandler Books
• Edis Glass Negatives
• Bishop Henson Papers
• Christopher Hunter Manuscripts
• William Hutchinson's extra-illustrated History and Antiquities of the County Palatine of Durham
• Bishop Samuel Kirshbaum Knight Papers
• William Longstaffe Manuscripts
• James Raine Manuscripts
• Thomas Randall Manuscripts
• Archdeacon Sharp Sermons
• Sir Cuthbert Sharp Manuscripts
• Surtees Manuscripts