Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Other Collections and Sources: Hymnody (Pratt Green Collection)

Our collections

One of the strengths of Archives and Special Collections is its collection of books, manuscripts and documents concerning hymnody, including studies of hymns and many volumes of hymns, psalms and the like. This collection is also known as the Pratt Green collection, named after Rev Fred Pratt Green (1903-2000), Methodist minister and one of the best known recent hymn writers. The more modern volumes, being generally volumes published since 1900, are accessible on the open shelves in the Barker Research Library.

Availability online (digital images)

These collections have not been digitised, so that only the catalogues are currently available online.

If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.

If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose.  Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.

See also our guide to Digitised Collections Online for further information on our digital resources.

Access to original sources

The collections mentioned above are located at Palace Green Library.  Our current opening hours are below.

  • Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday: closed
  • Sunday: closed

For further information on visiting to use the collections, please see our Visiting Guide.

See separate Libraries and Site Information guide for further information on Palace Green Library.

Contact us

Where to start