Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Museums, Galleries and Exhibitions: Art Collection

Ask DULib

Contact us through our enhanced virtual enquiry desk, Ask DULib. Search our FAQs, email us, or chat with a librarian. 
Ask DULib is available to all students, staff and users.

Ask DULib, Library Help

Art Collection

The University’s collection of art presents work by some of the most significant artists of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries and specialises in print-based media.   

The variety of print-based artworks makes the collection an invaluable resource for investigating different printing techniques, from early methods of woodcut printing to more contemporary screen and digital printing techniques. The status of the multiple print as a primary artwork is one that is frequently contested or misinterpreted and the collection can be seen as a unique resource in considering this notion and in investigating the different means of printing and their status.  

We are currently working on making the University art collection more widely accessible through our online database Discover and opening up access to the collection through talks, tours, exhibitions and events, as well as using the collection as a key primary resource for teaching and research within the University and regional schools. In the meantime, you can enjoy a selection of our collection highlights and themes. 

If you would like to find out more about the collection, please contact our curator, Alix Collingwood-Swinburn 

Landscape format, bright yellow background. In the

Caption: Guerrilla Girls, Do women have to be naked to get into the Met. Museum?, 2012, Copyright © Guerrilla Girls, Courtesy guerrillagirls.com