Archives and Special Collections: Durham Cathedral Collections: Additional archive collections

Two collections are divided between Durham Cathedral Library and Palace Green Library:

• Glass negatives created by the firm of John Reed Edis: collection at Durham Cathedral Library and collection at  Palace Green Library
• Prints, Drawings and Plans includes prints and published items alongside architectural drawings:  not currently available

The following collections are in the custody of the University Library and Collections, at Barker Research Library:

• Additional Manuscripts, including items associated with the cathedral, and the clergy and staff associated with it
• Records of the Old Choristers Association
• Collection of William Footitt (architect, ? early/mid 20th century), comprising drawings and articles apparently collated as exemplars for different styles and furnishings.
• Collections of deeds donated to the cathedral, viz:
  • Kepier Hospital Deeds (property in Hunstanworth, belonging to Sir William Paget after dissolution of the hospital in 1539)
  • Sherburn Hospital Deeds (medieval deeds for property belonging to the hospital)
  • Silksworth Deeds (early modern and modern deeds of properties belonging to the Middleton and Ettrick families)

These collections have not been digitised, so that only the collection guides linked to above (and in a few instances, detailed catalogues linked from the guides) are currently available online.

If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.

If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose.  Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.

See also our guide to Digitised Collections Online for further information on our digital resources.