Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Durham Cathedral Collections: Antiquarians' collections and related

Collections

At 5 The College

Files collated by Ralph Nelson of Bishop Auckland (died 1909), collated chiefly late 19th century but comprising material from the early 18th century onwards, on a wide range of individuals from Bishop Auckland, County Durham and Newcastle (briefly listed within the linked collection guide)

Collection of William Footitt (architect, ? early/mid 20th century), comprising drawings and articles apparently collated as exemplars for different styles and furnishings.

Prints, Drawings and Plans includes prints and published items alongside architectural drawings

At Durham Cathedral Library

The following collections include original documents alongside transcripts and notes by the antiquarians named:

Other collections of antiquarians include papers assembled by:

The collection of glass negatives created by the firm of John Reed Edis is divided between a collection at Durham Cathedral Library and another  at Palace Green Library.

Availability online (digital images)

These collections have not been digitised, so that only the collection guides linked to above (and in a few instances, detailed catalogues linked from the guides) are currently available online.

If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.

If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose.  Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.

See also our guide to Digitised Collections Online for further information on our digital resources.

Contact us

Sources elsewhere