Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Abbas Hilmi II Papers: Dissertation prize

Dissertation Prize

Each year Prince Abbas Hilmi and the trustees of the Mohamed Ali Foundation are offering to one undergraduate or postgraduate student studying in an accredited higher educational institution anywhere in the world £200 in vouchers or book tokens for the best dissertation substantially based upon material in the Abbas Hilmi II Papers, held in Durham University Library’s Special Collections. Submitted dissertations must be in English and have been awarded a grade of 70% or above by the student’s home institution. The winning dissertation will be published as a paper in the al-Sabah Publications Programme, and promoted through Durham University communications channels. Copies of the winning dissertation will be kept by Durham University Library, and sent to the trustees of the Mohamed Ali Foundation.

If you wish your dissertation to be considered for the prize please attach the entry form below to your piece of work upon its first submission at your home institution. If it qualifies for the prize you or your supervisor should then send this form together with a copy of your graded dissertation to the prize scheme administrator. The prize will be awarded by (emailed) letter on 31 October by Prince Abbas Hilmi or by a member of the Mohamed Ali Foundation. Full terms and conditions of the prize scheme are provided in this form.

Availability online (digital images)

These collections have not been digitised, so that only the catalogues are currently available online.

If you would like to purchase digital copies of specific items from any of our collections, please get in touch.

If you are a member of teaching staff at Durham University and would like to use material from Archives and Special Collections within your lectures or seminars, we may be able to scan or photograph items for this purpose.  Please contact us as early as possible with any teaching digitisation requests.

See also our guide to Digitised Collections Online for further information on our digital resources.

Access to original sources

The collections mentioned above are located at Palace Green Library.  Our current opening hours are below.

  • Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm
  • Saturday: closed
  • Sunday: closed

At the moment, we offer a limited appointment-only service at Palace Green Library and need at least 3 days' notice of your intended visit.  Please contact us using our online booking form if you would like to book a research slot.

See separate Libraries and Site Information guide for further information on Palace Green Library.

Contact us

Where to start