Guides: Subject Guide: Anthropology: Subject Databases

Ask Us

You can get in touch through our live chat service or by email, and search our FAQs for answers to your questions.

Anthropology Resources

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology

Link to the Sage Research MEthods platform

Anthropology collection on the Kanopy video streaming service

Resources

Anthropology plus
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSource
AnthroSource was developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It brings 100 years of anthropological material online including a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003 and current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications. Features newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
eHRAF world cultures
The eHRAF collection is a web-based, multi-cultural database for disciplines with an interest in cultural diversity. For each culture included, eHRAF contains ethnographic information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior. This annually-growing database is unique in that in every paragraph of the full-text source (book, article, dissertation) is subject-indexed for precise retrieval of information. Cultures range from ethnic groups in Africa, Asia, and Oceania, to indigenous and immigrant groups in North and South America.
International bibliography of the social sciences
Bibliographic database compiled by the London School of Economics and Political Science. IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. The database covers the references in the print publications "International bibliography of anthropology", "International bibliography of economics", "International bibliography of political science" and "International bibliography of sociology".
PERSÉE
"Website for scientific journals in social and human sciences, established by the Ministry of State Education, Higher Education and Research. Launched on the initiative of the research community, who are keen for their scientific output to have greater visibility, the PERSEE website has as its mission the digitisation and online distribution of back collections of a vast corpus of periodicals. Wider availability of this rich scientific heritage will benefit French research by making it freely and publicly accessible." Provides full text articles in French from online academic journals via the 'Revues scientifiques' tab, including Cahiers d'études africaines, Annales de géographie, and Revue française de science politique, and to the monograph series Publications de la Maison de l'Orient et de la Méditerranée and Publications de l'École Française de Rome via the 'Publications et séries' tab.
Scopus
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Scopus has journal coverage in many subjects across the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
ISI Web of Science is an integrated platform designed to support research in academic, corporate, government, and not for profit organizations. ISI citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic.

All the world's primates
All the World's Primates is the comprehensive and authoritative resource for information about all the species and subspecies of living lorises, galagos, lemurs, tarsiers, monkeys, and apes. The relational database has contributions from more than 300 scientists, most of whom have done research on primates in their natural habitats. Containing all of the 612 species and subspecies recognized by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), as well as exciting current discoveries, the database details habitat, social behavior, diet, physical measurements, risks of extinction, and other facts critical to understanding primate lives. Users can organize primates by multiple methods that best suit their needs. Fully referenced with over 10,000 citations, the data accompany more than 3,000 photographs, as well as interactive maps for each species and subspecies, video, audio, links, search tools, multilingual glossaries, review articles, and other resources.
Mass observation online
This resource includes essays on British social history collected between 1937 and 1972 during a project called the Mass Observation. The archives also include photographs, file reports, diaries, day surveys and links to other sites. Mass Observation Online offers access to one of the most important archives for the study of social history in the modern era.
Oxford art online
The Grove Dictionary of Art contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study. The online version provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links. It offers original essays on each subject by scholars in the field, originally commissioned maps, diagrams, line drawings, art resources, site links (which include images), etc.

Title: Royal Anthropological Institute, 1763-2016, History of Anthropology, Explorations and Social Sciences Across the Globe, by Wiley Digital Archives

Description: The Archive of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland covers the history of cultural, biological, medical and visual anthropology, colonialism, social sciences, and humanities across the globe from ~1763 to 2016. It contains ethnographic photographs, lantern slide images, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, surveys, fieldnotes, drawings, data and ephemera - all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives programme.

Subjects covered: African Studies, Amazon Studies, Animal Studies, Anthropology, Anthropometry, Archaeology, Arctic Studies, Area Studies, Art History, Asian Studies, Australasian Studies, Body, Body Art, British Studies, Celtic Studies, Central America, Colonial History, Civil/Human Rights, Cultural Studies, Desertification, Digital Humanities, Domestication, Environment, Ethnographic Studies, Ethnomusicology, European Studies, Evolutionary Anthropology, Expeditions, Forensic Anthropology, Folklore, Fossil Studies, Gaelic Studies, Gender Studies, Genealogy, Geography, Global History, Health, Hidden Voices, Historical Anthropology, Huxley Memorial Lectures, Imperial Studies, Intellectual History, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Manchester School, Malinowski Lectures, Metallurgy, Middle Eastern Studies, Magic, Mining, Oceanic Studies, North American Studies, Palaeontology, Photography, Prehistory, Psychology, Race, Religion, Russian Studies, Sahara, Social Anthropology, Social and Political Thought, South America, Traditional Medicine and Healing, Visual Cultures

Content Type: Primary Sources

Format: Database/Electronic

Published: Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2018

URL: https://discover.durham.ac.uk/permalink/44DUR_INST/k3s6qp/alma991009941179707366.