Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to University Library and Collections: Home

Welcome to University Library and Collections!

Whether you are starting your University journey with us this year or continuing with your studies, we are looking forward to working with you and supporting you during your time with Durham University. 

Within this guide, you'll find lots of information about accessing our libraries and study spaces and the support services we have available to you. If you're new to the Library, you can visit our Getting started with the Library guide for lots of helpful information.

You can also keep an eye on University Library and Collections website and social media accounts for any news and updates.

What we do 

We're here to support you with your learning throughout your time at Durham and to help you get the most out of the services and resources we have to offer. We provide:

  • access to our extensive collections of printed items, mediaeval manuscripts, maps, photographs, objects and artworks, as well as online resources including eBooks, eJournals and databases.

  • specialist subject support from our Faculty Librarians.  

  • access to study spaces and facilities including printing, photocopying, PCs and scanning.  

  • support and information from our friendly staff through our Virtual Enquiry Desk.

What is available?

Our highlights 

  • We have a wide range of online resources available - you can browse over 850,000 eBooks and around 25,000 eJournals, ensuring you can access the information you need online.

  • We offer a variety of bookable and non-bookable study spaces available across our sites and have areas for quiet, collaborative and silent study. See our Study Spaces guide for more details.

  • Our library catalogue, Discover allows you to search most of our library, museum and special collections in one place. You can directly access our extensive range of eJournals and eBooks and view high quality scanned images of some of the objects in our museums and archives collections. 

  • If you are studying online as part of a distance learning programme, postal loans, postal returns and scan and deliver services are available to help you access the resources you need. Visit our Request guide for more details on accessing items.

  • Research access at Barker Research Library (at Palace Green Library), 5 The College, Ushaw College and Oriental Museum is available by pre-booked appointment.

  • You will have an online reading list for each module. This will direct you to your essential reading and, in many cases, link directly to an electronic copy.

Is there more than one Library?
 

Bill Bryson Library, Lower Mountjoy

The Bill Bryson Library (often referred to as the Billy B) is our main University Library, and you will find a fantastic range of resources to support your studies. Staff are always on hand to help and our Virtual Enquiry Desk is available to you to contact our friendly team online.
 

Barker Research Library, Palace Green

Our Archives and Special Collections are held within the Barker Research Library, located in the historic Palace Green Library. The Library is bright and airy, making for a peaceful place to study and work. Visit our webpages for more information.
 

ISC Library, Stockton-on-Tees

The International Study Centre (ISC) Library is for use by ISC students and staff at Queen's Campus, Stockton and can be found on level 2 of the Ebsworth Building. 
 

Study spaces

Not only can you study in our libraries, we also have a number of designated study spaces available across the city:

Leazes Road Study Space

Located within the main School of Education building, Leazes Road Study Space provides additional study facilities that are conveniently located for those living in the Gilesgate area and members of Hild Bede College. 
 

                            Teaching and Learning Centre

The Teaching and Learning Centre (TLC) is a short distance from the Bill Bryson Library and provides space for independent study. Space for both individual and group study is available and you can contact our Virtual Enquiry Desk if you require any support.


Business School Study Space

                            Situated in the Durham University Business School is the Business School Study Space with a reference collection of core texts. This facility is only available to Business School students and study spaces must be pre-booked with the School. 

How can I access the Library?

You can visit our libraries and study spaces at any time during opening times. Alternatively, you can choose to book a study space at Bill Bryson Library before you visit through our Space Bookings system, something we are continuing to offer following feedback from our students. To visit any of our sites, you will need to bring your campus card.

Access to Bill Bryson Library is via entry gates - simply scan your campus card to enter. There are maps of the Library located around the building and at the Help and Information Desk to help you find your way around. 

Top tips

Plan and manage your independent study time

Planning your study time is really beneficial and can help you manage your studies and ensure you still have time for yourself. You can pre-book a study space at the Bill Bryson Library or just drop in to the Library or any of our other non-bookable study spaces whenever you have some free time. 

Bill Bryson Library is open 24/7 during term time - however, that doesn’t mean you should be there every hour of the day! Study with us at a time that works for you, not just because we're open.

Develop your skills

We have a range of tutorials, videos, webinars and guides to help you to get the most out of our resources, and to develop the skills you need to succeed in your studies. Visit our webpages to find out more. 

Ask DULib!

If you have any queries at all, please get in touch! We're here to help and to provide support in getting the most out of our resources for your studies. You can contact us through our Virtual Enquiry Desk, Ask DULib or contact your Faculty Librarian. You can speak to any member of the library team in the library and they'll point you in the right direction.

Keep up to date

Check our website regularly for news and updates to services and opening times. You can also follow us on social media, where you might even get the odd sighting of our mascot, Billy Bee... 

          

Getting started with the Library

New to the Library? Visit our Getting started with the Library guide for lots of helpful information and top tips!

Virtual Enquiry Desk

Contact us through our enhanced virtual enquiry desk, Ask DULib. Search our FAQs, email us, or chat with a librarian. 
Ask DULib is available to all students, staff and users.

Ask DULib, Library Help

Quick Links

Keep up to date

Keep up to date by following our library social media accounts: