Subject Guide: Law: Subject Databases

Database of up-to-date legislation, case law and commentary (journals, books, reference materials)

An online legal research service which provides a unique collection of legal and regulatory information by combining materials from renowned information providers such as Sweet & Maxwell, Carswell and West Group. The collection includes case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties, and directories.

Username and password required for access. Check the catalogue record (https://library.dur.ac.uk/record=b2747718~S1) for access to passwords. Enter your Durham CIS log in and password when prompted for authentication for this web page.

'Halsbury's Laws of England covers every proposition of English law (whether statutory or common law), and is divided into alphabetically arranged titles, making it convenient to use and enabling quick and easy research into any area of law. The text of those titles is supplemented by regularly updated annotations: all primary and secondary legislation, all leading law reports, and many specialist series of case reports are monitored for developments which affect the law set out in Halsbury's Laws.' - website information.

Full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals, representing four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.

ISI Web of Science is an integrated platform designed to support research in academic, corporate, government, and not for profit organizations. ISI citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic.

A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Scopus has journal coverage in many subjects across the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.