Guides: Subject Guide: Geography: Subject Databases

Ask Us

You can get in touch through our live chat service or by email, and search our FAQs for answers to your questions.

Geography Resources

Resources

GeoRefS
Indexes the geoscience literature of the world, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Subject coverage includes crystallography, economic geology, environmental geology, engineering geology, geochemistry, geophysics, hydrogeology, hydrology, marine geology, mineralogy, oceanography, and paleontology. Dates covered are: 1785 to present for North America and 1933 to present for international.
The international encyclopedia of geography
Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world. It contains more than 1,000 entries ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words offering accessible introductions to basic concepts, sophisticated explanations of complex topics, and information on geographical societies around the world. It provides definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science.
Scopus
A large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Scopus has journal coverage in many subjects across the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
ISI Web of Science is an integrated platform designed to support research in academic, corporate, government, and not for profit organizations. ISI citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic.

Digimap
Digimap is an EDINA service that delivers Ordnance Survey map data to UK tertiary education. Data is available either to download to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online. Digimap allows users to view and print maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales.
Geofacets
Geofacets makes hundreds of thousands of peer-reviewed maps easily discoverable via location or text-based searches. Information about each map's original context from the source publication is included, and maps are easily integrated into GIS and presentation programs.

Title: Royal Geographical Society (with IBG), 1478-2010, History of Geography, Colonization and Climate Science in the British Empire, by Wiley Digital Archives

Description: The Archive of the Royal Geographical Society (with Institute of British Geographers) covers the history of geography exploration, colonization and de-colonization, anthropology, law, climate science, gender studies, cartography, and environmental history throughout the British Empire from the early modern period to late twentieth century. It contains manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, charts, atlases, photographs, surveys, data and ephemera - all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives programme.

Subjects covered: African Studies, Agricultural Studies, Amazon Studies, American Studies, Animal Studies, Antarctic Studies, Anthropology, Arctic Studies, Area Studies, Asian Studies, Australasian Studies, Border Studies, Cartography, Celtic Studies, Climate, Colonial Studies, Cultural Geography, Cultures, Development Studies, Digital Humanities, Earth Sciences, Economic & Social History, Endurance (Shackleton), Environmental History, Everest, Evolution, Eastern Europe, European Studies, Ethnic Studies, Ethnography, Expeditions, Exploration, Gaelic Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Geology, Geopolitics, Geosciences, Global History, Hidden Voices, Historical Geography, Historical Sociology, History of Race, Human Geography, Intellectual History, International Law, International Relations, Labour History, Latin American Studies, Livingstone, Meteorology, Migration, Middle Eastern Studies, Missionary History, Ornithological Studies, Ottoman Empire, Polar Studies, Population Studies, Physical Geography, Religion, Resources & Land Use, Scramble for Africa, Slavery and Abolition, Trade and Commerce, Urban Studies

Content Type: Primary Sources

Format: Database/Electronic

Published: Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2019

URL: https://discover.durham.ac.uk/permalink/44DUR_INST/k3s6qp/alma991010438996707366.