You can get in touch through our live chat service or by email, and search our FAQs for answers to your questions.
Nexis UK provides news and business information from a range of sources. This includes access to UK local, regional, national newspapers, international newspapers and newswires as well as foreign languages sources. It also provides access to a range of business information sources from industry and company monitoring and reporting services, and professional and trade magazines.
It is possible to search groups of sources (for example, UK Broadsheets, Major World Newspapers) or an individual publication. Coverage is from the 1980s onwards and is updated daily (although the update schedules of individual sources may vary). Access to certain freelance articles and other features within publications may not be available.
European Newsstream provides full text of 555 British and European newspapers. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers.
Factiva provides worldwide full text coverage of international and US newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
Infotrac Newsstand is updated daily and its services builds upon 'Gale's Full Text Custom Newspapers database' (UK Broadsheets) and adds content from over 3,000 UK and non-UK titles (pver 1,500 active titles) at a local, regional, national and international level. As with Nexis and Factiva, this is a text only feed of news from these sources - but note that Gale Primary Sources (on the same platform) provides access to digital archives of some UK newspapers up to within the last 10 years.
Gale Primary Sources - UK Broadsheet Digital Archives is more well known for the access provided to historical archives, but some of the newspaper digital archives cover periods up to the most recent 20 years of material:
(Note that the Guardian and Observer newspaper digital archive (1791-2003) is available via Proquest Historical Newspapers: Guardian and Observer)
Online Newspapers aims to provide an online directory of newspapers worldwide. Note that some of these papers will operate via pay-per-view or subscription access, and some may be subject to varying levels of censorship or editorial control.
Radio Liberty (formerly Radio Free Europe) journalists report the news in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. They aim to provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.
Gale Primary Sources provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) and other newspaper archives also accessed via Gale Newsvault.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and the Observer Newspaper Archive provides access to the digital archive of:
British Library Newspapers provides access to local and regional newspaper content from the UK from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. The British Newspaper Archive is a partnership between the British Library and Findmypast to digitise almost 40 million newspaper pages from the British Library's collections over. Some of this content is made exclusively available to Higher Education Institutions through Gale Primary Sources (above), but there is additional digitised content which is accessible via some UK Public Libraries and Archives (through the BNA Community Edition), or through a personal subscription. Access to this content cannot currently be provided through Durham University Library. See BNA Subscriptions for further information.
The Gazette Archive covers the London (previously The Oxford Gazette), Edinburgh and Belfast editions, provides access to issues of these official journals of record of the British Government from 1665 through to the present day.
The Spectator Archive provides access to issues of the Spectator from July 1828, through to December 2000.
Daily Worker (1930-1955) / Morning Star (1997-) Archive via UKPressOnline, your gateway to more than TWO million pages of the 19th-21st Centuries’ newspapers, from 1835 to today, all as published on the day they were published and all searchable by name, word, phrase and date.
Australian Historic Newspapers via Trove allows online access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (ANDP), an ongoing project. The site contains over 23,500,000 digitised newspaper pages for selected years between 1803 and 2012 and coverage is expanding weekly.
ANNO - Austrian Newspapers Online is the digital newspaper and magazine reading room of the Austrian National Library, providing access to newspaper content from 1689 to 1948.
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876
Chinese Historic Newspaper Collections - Durham University provides online access to a selection of Chinese newspaper collections which you can access via the Library catalogue:
Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers provides access to information about historic US newspapers, including select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). Note that whilst extensive, it is not comprehensive, with a focus on digitising content on orphaned titles not currenlty under ownership. Coverage is from 1690 to the present.
East African Newspapers - Key newspapers from the 1940s to the mid-2010s covering over 800,000 pages from Daily Nation (Keyna), The Ethiopian Herald and The Monitor (Uganda).
Europeana - Explore the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from over 4 million European newspapers from across Europe, dating from 1618 to 1996.
Gallica French Newspapers provides access to selections of press titles and journals, organized by type of publication (daily, weekly, magazine), by theme, by geographical area and by historical period form the year 1631 onwards.
Hemeroteca Digital Hispanic Digital Library is a collection from the National Library of Spain
Historic German Newspapers and Journals Online includes "Historic Periodical Collections, Regional Newspapers, Jewish Newspapers, Local Newspapers and Magazines"
Japanese newspapers:
Le Monde - Archive content of 1944-2000
New York Times - available from 1851 until 2012
Papers Past is a New Zealand newspaper archive that includes contains digitised NZ and Pacific newspapers, magazines, journals, letters, diaries and parliamentary papers.
Pravda Digital Archive - Pravda (Правда, Truth) was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Today, Pravda remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation.
Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to a range of UK and International newspaper digital archives:
Rand Daily Mail Archive (1902-1985) Quintessential reporting on South Africa from the Boer Wars to the apartheid era
The library holds collections of newspapers on microform from local, national and international titles. These include:
You can browse titles or limit your search, using the icon at the top of the results page, by words that appear in the title.
