Professional Bodies for Engineering and Computing Sciences
Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE)

Undergradute Engineering students can take up membership of the IMechE free of charge and make use of the services and resources in its library, including:

• 4,000 full-text e-journals
• 800 full text books

The library's collections contain the entire backfile of IMechE publications from 1847, as well as Society of Automotive Engineers publications and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers papers.

For the library and archive catalogues, and more information on the services, see http://www.imeche.org/knowledge/library/catalogues

Further information on student membership is available at: http://www.imeche.org/membership/apply/students-and-apprentices/student-affiliate

Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)

Undergraduate Engineering students can take up membership of the ICE free of charge and make use of the services and resources in its library, including:

• Use the online library services: search the vast catalogue, download ebooks, view journals and receive free papers
• Learn more about civil engineering, innovation and developments through recorded lectures
• Keep up-to-date with the latest industry news in New Civil Engineer magazine online and through the app
• Use the Ask Brunel! service for the answer to any civil engineering question within 24 hours

ICE is home to an enormous variety of civil engineering content, including many thousands of books and articles published by the society since 1836. You can find out more about the ICE Library at: https://www.ice.org.uk/disciplines-and-resources/ice-library-and-digital-resources

Further information on student membership is available at: https://www.ice.org.uk/membership/grades-of-ice-membership/student-membership-of-ice

Institution of Structural Engineers (IStructE)

Undergraduate Engineering students can take up membership of the IStructE free of charge and make use of the services and resources in its library, including:

• Full online access to the current volume and entire e-archive of The Structural Engineer – the Institution’s flagship publication (and the option to purchase a print subscription at a heavily discounted rate)
• Exclusive discount on Institution publications
• Full use of the Institution’s library in London
• Links to recent graduates at industry events and participate in student social events near you
• Network with professional structural engineers and meet potential employers in your local Regional Group
• Enter competitions, prizes and awards organised by the Institution and the Educational Trust
• Get involved in STEM events, and become a structural engineering STEM Ambassador
• Receive advice and information on careers and routes to professional membership from the Membership and Education Department
• Boost your employability profile, as student membership of the Institution attracts potential intern/work placements or future employment opportunities

Further information on student membership is available at: https://www.istructe.org/membership/types-of-membership/student-member

Further information on all of the above can be found at the Institution’s website

Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET)

The IET has a heritage dating back to 1871, and today its mission is to inspire, inform and influence the global engineering community, supporting technology innovation to meet the needs of society. Students can take advantage of membership and access a wealth of searchable information - in print and online - from the IET’s outstanding specialist engineering-related collections including over 190,000 technical papers including 70,000 journal articles, 6,000 eBook chapters and over 1,300 conference publications. The IET provides the following knowledge services (http://www.theiet.org/resources/library/ );

• Physical Library (http://www.theiet.org/resources/library/services/index.cfm)

The Faraday Centre, including the Knowledge Centre and Faraday Lounge is now open at Savoy Place, London. Members can visit the physical library for loans and renewals, the library bookshop and access to book reviews - a postal service is provided for those members outside of the London area.

• IET Digital / Virtual Library (http://digital-library.theiet.org/)
  The IET Digital Library holds more than 190,000 technical papers from 1994 onwards for all IET journals, magazines, books, conference publications and seminar digests. The service includes a collection of electronic books and journals supplied by EBSCO, Knovel, Dawsonera and Wiley.
• Journals (http://www.theiet.org/resources/journals/research/)

Offering a range of 24 research titles, 3 letters journals and a gold open access megajournal, the IET Journals portfolio offers a wealth of research and information in a wide range engineering and technology fields.

• IET.tv (https://tv.theiet.org/)

One of the world’s largest collections of multidisciplinary engineering and technology content. Over 6500 videos on a state of the art platform.

• Online Access to INSPEC (http://www.theiet.org/resources/inspec/index.cfm)
  An invaluable resource - 15 million abstracts and specialised indexing to quality research literature in physics and engineering.
• Research and document supply services (http://www.theiet.org/resources/library/services/research/index.cfm)

A free enquiry service, and document supply and interlibrary loans at charged rates.

• IET Archives (http://www.theiet.org/resources/library/archives/index.cfm)

The IET Archives consists of the IET's own records, special collections, rare books libraries and deposited business records. They all reflect the history and innovation of engineering and technology with the majority of material held off site in a special temperature and humidity controlled repository. We offer a basic enquiry service and are also open to the public to view material by appointment.