Subject Guide: Chemistry: Subject Databases

English and foreign-language references to journal articles, books, audiovisuals materials, and conferences; intended for all personnel interested in health and safety management. Sources of references are about 200 journals manually scanned as well as peripheral sources. Arranged according to chemical hazards, biological hazards, precautions and legislation, and general. Each entry gives bibliographical information and abstract. Chemical and subject indexes.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Scientific and trade literature are scanned for information on hazards encountered by laboratory workers in all fields including R&D, analytical and hospital laboratories. Coverage includes: chemical and biological hazards; leaks, spills and unplanned releases; hazardous waste management; fires and explosions; safety legislation; precautions and safe practices; occupational health and hygiene monitoring; protective equipment. Each monthly issue contains 50-60 items selected from the worldwide primary literature. Each issue also contains a combined subject and chemical index.

The NCDS is an EPSRC-funded service provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry to all students and other members of UK academic institutions. The online platform currently provides access to state-of-the-art chemistry databases and tools for the benefit of the chemical research community, with a data repository for UK chemical research data also under development.

To reduce the barriers to drug discovery in industry, academia and for small businesses, the Open PHACTS consortium is building the Open PHACTS Discovery Platform. This will be freely available, integrating pharmacological data from a variety of information resources and providing tools and services to question this integrated data to support pharmacological research. The project is ending in February 2016.

The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. Click the tabs at the top to explore each section. Use the buttons above to change your view of the periodic table and view Murray Robertson’s stunning Visual Elements artwork. Click each element to read detailed information.

Reaxys is a workflow solution for accessing the combined wealth of trustworthy, experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.

Provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. Includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. Covers chemistry, biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, and food science, from 1907 to the present. Also includes compounds identified in the CAS registry since 1957.