Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Sources for Local and Family History: Other Local Resources

Other Local Resources

The following archives and specialist libraries provide further resources for local research: 

Durham Cathedral Library https://www.durhamcathedral.co.uk/heritage/cathedral-library 
The UK's most complete in situ medieval monastic library with more than 300 manuscripts from the pre-Reformation era. 

Ushaw College Library https://www.dur.ac.uk/library/asc/localother/ushaw.htm/ 
Extensive collections mainly relating to Catholic theology and history. 

Durham County Reference Library http://www.durham.gov.uk/article/2036/Durham-Clayport-Library 
Public library, with local collections. 

Durham County Record Office http://www.durhamrecordoffice.org.uk/article/8338/Home 
Archives from historic County Durham. 

Newcastle City Library https://newcastlecollection.newcastle.gov.uk/ 
Very strong local studies collection; manuscripts as well as printed material. 

Newcastle University Library https://www.ncl.ac.uk/library/special-collections/  
Archives include Trevelyan Papers; Runciman Papers; Bosanquet Papers; papers of Jack Common. 
Pybus history of medicine collection; Robert White Collection (Border history and ballads), etc. 

Literary & Philosophical Society of Newcastle upon Tyne Library https://www.litandphil.org.uk/  
Large local collection; early printed books and controversial pamphlets; early scientific and technological material. 

Northumberland Archives (Woodhorn) https://www.northumberlandarchives.com/ 
Archives from the county of Northumberland including numerous family and estate collections. 

Tyne & Wear Archives Service (Newcastle) http://www.tyneandweararchives.org.uk/ 
Newcastle city records; industrial and business records. 

Sunderland City Library http://www.sunderland.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=1557 
Local history; genealogical microfilms; industry, especially shipping.

Bowes Museum (Barnard Castle) http://www.thebowesmuseum.org.uk/ 
Nationally renowned art collection, archives and early printed book library of Josephine and John Bowes. 

North Yorkshire County Record Office (Northallerton) https://www.northyorks.gov.uk/county-record-office  
Archives from the North Riding of Yorkshire dating back to the twelfth century 

Teesside Archives (Middlesbrough) https://www.middlesbrough.gov.uk/leisure-events-libraries-and-hubs/teesside-archives 
Archives from the Teesside area (Middlesbrough, Stockton, Hartlepool, and Redcar & Cleveland) 

Contact us