Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Sources for Local and Family History: Home

Please note

This guide is a work-in-progress. If you need information about a collection and you are unable to find it here, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us. Apologies for any inconvience or delay this may cause.

Introduction

Welcome to the Local History guide!

Here you will find links to our resources, guides and projects that are most likely to be useful for those undertaking local history research from the archives held by Durham University Library and Collections. The local history and heritage of County Durham is extraordinarily rich, a vibrancy reflected in the extensive research collections which can be found across Archives and Special Collections. Such research collections also support and encourage the study of family history and genealogy by specialists and non-specialists alike.

These manuscript archives, as well as an extensive printed local history collection, are freely accessible to all - not just to students.

The collection is held within the library at Palace Green, overlooked by the city's awe-inspiring cathedral. The Special Collections staff are very happy to answer your questions and facilitate your research in any way they can. The collection contains diocesan, family, and antiquarian collections dating from the medieval to modern times and covers both County Durham and Northumberland, as well as certain parts of neighbouring counties..

Discover

We currently have two search interfaces, one for our archive and museum collections (left below), and the other for our printed book collections and e-resources (right below).  Please click on the images to open the relevant search interface.

Search Archive Collections: Search Book Collections:
discover interface for archive collections discover interface for book collections

 

About our collections

Rare and Early Printed Books
Churches and Religion
Sudan Archive
Medieval Manuscripts
Local and Family History
Durham Light Infantry Medal Collection
Durham University Records
Durham Cathedral Collections
International Sources
Digitised Collections Online
Music, Literature and the Arts
Other Collections and Subjects

Contact us

Collection highlights

Archivist filmed with medieval deed in Palace Green Library

Archives and Special Collections podcasts and films

Online exhibitions (archive, library, museum and art collections)

Durham University Library and Collections blog

Archives and Special Collections Item of the Month

Durham Priory Library project blog

Binchester Exposed (Archaeology exhibition)