Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Durham Cathedral Collections: Home

Introduction

Durham Cathedral needs no introduction as a building, famously described as "the best cathedral on earth" by Bill Bryson, author and former Chancellor of Durham University.  Its collections are no less remarkable, exemplified by the extraordinary survival of its medieval manuscripts and archives in the transition from dissolution of the Benedictine Priory to a cathedral of the New Foundation under Henry VIII.

The University's partnership with the Cathedral for the care and custody of its archive goes back to a report for the Pilgrim Trust in 1939.  Deliberations were delayed by wartime necessities, and the archive was placed in the university's care in 1948.  From then on, it has been looked after, catalogued and made available for research by university staff, but retained throughout within the cathedral precincts.

Other collections of archives have been given to or deposited with the cathedral at various times during the 19th-20th centuries, and custody of these is now divided between the University Library and Collections, and the Cathedral Library, as outlined on the Other Collections page.

Manuscripts and printed books, and the cathedral's music manuscripts, remain in the custody of the Cathedral Library. Research access to these collections is managed by cathedral staff.  The cathedral website includes further information on these and on the important object collections belonging to Durham Cathedral, including Anglo-Saxon stones and embroideries.

Use the form below to search within the catalogues for the Durham Cathedral Archive only (medieval and post-Dissolution).

Discover

undefined

About our collections

Rare and Early Printed Books
Churches and Religion
Sudan Archive
Medieval Manuscripts
Local and Family History
Durham Light Infantry Medal Collection
Durham University Records
Durham Cathedral Collections
International Sources
Digitised Collections Online
Music, Literature and the Arts
Other Collections and Subjects

Contact us

Collection highlights

Archivist filmed with medieval deed in Palace Green Library

Archives and Special Collections podcasts and films

Online exhibitions (archive, library, museum and art collections)

Durham University Library and Collections blog

Archives and Special Collections Item of the Month

Durham Priory Library project blog

Binchester Exposed (Archaeology exhibition)